Nominating Committee

The ASTS Nominating Committee is pleased to put forward the following ballot for 2020 Officer and Councilor-at-Large positions. Click the button below to view the 2020 candidates, along with their personal photos, biographies, and summaries of their ASTS involvement.

Eligible voting members will be sent an email from Vote Now with a unique link to their ballot. If you believe you are eligible to vote and did not receive a ballot, please contact Ning Duan at

Voting closes March 30, 2020.

Mission Statement

The Nominating Committee consists of the ASTS President, two most recent Past Presidents, the president-elect, and the six most senior Councilors-at-Large. The Nominating Committee seeks recommendations from the general membership, carefully considers all nominees, and puts forward a ballot of three candidates for secretary or treasurer and six candidates for councilor-at-large. The regular membership of ASTS then votes for one secretary or treasurer and three councilors. Results of the election are announced at the annual member business meeting during the American Transplant Congress.

Committee Chair nominations are solicited from the membership and appointed by the ASTS president.

Committee Members

Chair: Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH (2021)
Dixon B. Kaufman, MD, PhD (2021)
Marwan S. Abouljoud, MD, FACS (2023)
Jean C. Emond, MD (2020)
Talia B. Baker, MD (2020)
Jonathan P. Fryer, MD (2020)
Alan I. Reed, MD, MBA (2020)
Michael J. Englesbe, MD (2021)
Julie K. Heimbach, MD (2021)
Debra L. Sudan, MD (2021)

Staff Liaison: Diane Mossholder
Staff Liaison: Ning Duan