News Results

2019 Officer and Councilor Elections Open Through April 1

Feb 28, 2019
The ASTS Nominating Committee is pleased to announce the slate of candidates for the 2019 Officer and Councilor-at-Large elections.

The committee carefully reviewed all nominations, taking into account the achievements and contributions of each individual as well as the composition of the current Council, geographic diversity, clinical and scientific areas of expertise, and more. There was a robust response to the call for nominations, and the nominee pool was exceptional.

The ballot consists of three candidates for president-elect and six candidates for three councilor-at-large positions.

On Monday, February 25, eligible voting members received a link to vote via a secure online system from, with the subject heading "ASTS Ballot 2019." If the email did not reach your inbox, please check your spam filter or junk mail folder. If you cannot find it, please contact the National Office at or 703-414-7870.

Voting will close April 1, 2019, and election results will be formally announced at the  ASTS Town Hall during ATC in June.

The candidates for President-Elect are:

  • Marwan S. Abouljoud, MD, CPE, FACS
  • Elizabeth A. Pomfret, MD, PhD, FACS
  • Dorry L. Segev, MD, PhD

The six candidates for Councilor-at-Large are:

  • Kenneth A. Andreoni, MD
  • Matthew Cooper, MD
  • Devin E. Eckhoff, MD
  • Ryutaro Hirose, MD
  • Marc L. Melcher, MD, PhD
  • Kenneth Washburn, MD

More detailed information about each of the candidates is available here.