In This Section:
In This Section:

Nominating Committee

2018 Officer and Councilor Election

The ASTS Nominating Committee is pleased to announce the slate of candidates for the 2018 Officer and Councilor-at-Large elections. The committee carefully reviewed all nominations, taking into account the achievements and contributions of each individual as well as the composition of the current Council, geographic diversity, clinical and scientific areas of expertise, and more. There was a robust response to the call for nominations, and the nominee pool was exceptional. The ballot consists of :

  • 6 candidates for 3 councilor-at-large positions
  • 3 candidates for treasurer, and
  • 1 candidate for president-elect

On Monday, February 26, eligible voting members should receive a link to vote via a secure online system from elections@vote-now.com, with the subject heading "ASTS Ballot 2018." If the email does not reach your inbox, please check your spam filter or junk mail folder. If you cannot find it, please contact the National Office at nominations@asts.org or 703-414-7870.

Election results will be formally announced at the annual ASTS business meeting during ATC in June.

The candidate for President-Elect is Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH, Columbia University/New York-Presbyterian Hospital.

The three candidates for Treasurer are:

  • William C. Chapman, MD, FACS, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis
  • Carlos O. Esquivel, MD, PhD, Stanford University
  • James F. Markmann, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital

The six candidates for Councilor-at-Large are:

  • Kenneth A. Andreoni, MD, University of Florida
  • Matthew Cooper, MD, Medstar Georgetown Transplant Institute
  • Michael J. Englesbe, MD, University of Michigan
  • Julie K. Heimbach, MD, Mayo Clinic - Minnesota
  • Debra L. Sudan, MD, Duke University Medical Center
  • Kenneth Washburn, MD, The Ohio State University

More detailed information about each of the candidates is available here.

2018 Committee Nominations

The committee nomination process opened February 6. Nominations must be submitted online by 5:00 PM ET on March 5, 2018, and members may nominate themselves or any active ASTS member here

You may view the list of ASTS Committees here.

For a nomination to be seriously considered, the nominee must be dedicated to the field of transplantation and have a strong interest in serving the committee of their choice. 

All nominees will be notified in May 2018 and the terms will begin after the ASTS Annual Business Meeting held during ATC in Seattle in June 2018.

If you have any questions about the nominations process, read the Committee Nominations FAQ.

Mission Statement

The Nominating Committee consists of the ASTS President, two most recent Past Presidents, the president-elect, and the six most senior Councilors-at-Large. The Nominating Committee seeks recommendations from the general membership, carefully considers all nominees, and puts forward a ballot of three candidates for secretary or treasurer and six candidates for councilor-at-large. The regular membership of ASTS then votes for one secretary or treasurer and three councilors. Results of the election are announced at the annual member business meeting during the American Transplant Congress.

Committee Chair nominations are solicited from the membership and appointed by the ASTS president.

Committee Members

Chair: Jean C. Emond, MD (2018)
Timothy L. Pruett, MD (2017)
Charles M. Miller, MD (2018)
Dixon B. Kaufman, MD, PhD (2021)
William Chapman, MD (2018)
Carlos O. Esquivel, MD, PhD (2018)
Dorry L. Segev, MD, PhD (2018)
Peter L. Abt, MD, PhD (2020)
Wendy J. Grant, MD (2019)
Randall S. Sung, MD (2019)
Staff Liaison: Laurie Kulikosky
Staff Liaison: Maureen Ndoto