In this Section:
In This Section:
Nominations for the 2018 Recognition Awards are now closed. The deadline was September 18, 2017.

Sherilyn Gordon Memorial Travel Award

The Sherilyn Gordon Memorial Travel Award was established in 2017 to provide travel assistance to medical students, residents, and advanced transplant providers for attendance at the Annual State of the Art Winter Symposium. The award was created in memory of ASTS member and transplant surgeon Dr. Sherilyn Gordon, who was a mentor to and advocate for many trainees during her time at The Methodist Hospital, Houston. The award honors her dedication to transplantation, commitment to transplant patients, and passion for education. 

ASTS Vanguard Prize

ASTS Regular or Candidate Members who are Clinical Instructors or Assistant Professor surgical faculty members at a UNOS approved (or Canadian equivalent) transplant center, within 5 years of appointment, are eligible.

ASTS Francis Moore Excellence in Mentorship in the Field of Transplantation Surgery Award

Candidate ASTS members or junior faculty within 7 years of fellowship may nominate one mentor annually for this award.

ASTS Rising Stars in Transplantation Surgery

Eligibility: Individuals whose body of academic/scholarly work is original, significant, and either transformative or potentially transformative.  The work need not have been accepted by the majority of the transplant community as fact or standard of care.  It can pertain to any transplant related discipline.  And may be clinically, laboratory or translationally related. Nomination is open to Lecturers, Assistant Professors, and Associate Professors on the tenure or non-tenure tracks, can have an MD and/or PhD, and is 6-15 years post fellowship.

  • No self-nominations are accepted. 
  • Nominees should be ASTS members.
  • Two nominations per individual must be received to be eligible. 

ASTS Advanced Transplant Provider Award

ASTS Associate Members who are Advanced Practice Providers, Nurse Practitioners, Physician Assistants, Transplant Coordinators, and/or those with equivalent degrees such as Masters or Doctorate, PhD, PharmD, and other specialties and who have not been the ASTS Advanced Transplant Provider award recipient within the last five years are eligible.