

# ASTS Town Hall/Annual Membership Meeting May 31, 2020 Via Zoom Meeting

Meeting Called by: Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH, ASTS President

Call to Order: 4:31 p.m.

Type of Meeting: Videoconference

Minutes Submitted by: A. Osama Gaber, MD, ASTS Secretary

Minutes Prepared by: Diane L. Mossholder, MA, CAE, Director, Member Engagement

## **AGENDA TOPICS**

# Call to Order and Welcome | Presenter: Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH

## Discussion:

- Dr. Ratner welcomed everyone and reminded them to use the chat feature for comments or questions.
- He reviewed the agenda and thanked the sponsors of the Town Hall.

## In Memoriam | Presenters: Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH

## Discussion:

• Dr. Ratner gave tributes to Dr. Roland Anthone, Dr. Howard Radwin, Dr. Charles Shield, and Dr. Jeremiah Turcotte. He asked for a moment of silence to remember them.

#### Organizational Excellence | Presenters: Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH, and Liise Kayler, MD

## Discussion:

- Dr. Ratner reviewed the Society and related organizations: the Foundation and Transplant Accreditation and Certification Council, as well as the National Living Donor Assistance Center. He presented the vision and mission statements, as well as the core values and strategic goal areas.
- He asked for a motion to approve the minutes from the June 2, 2019 Business Meeting.
- Dr. Ratner gave an overview of the 2019 financial position for the ASTS and a fundraising report for the Foundation, including the 2020 ASTS Research Grants that were funded.
- Dr. Kayler proposed several bylaws changes: Eliminate Council approval of membership applications;
  Eliminate one-year training and six-month active involvement requirement for transplant physician
  members; Eliminate 3-year post-doctoral activity requirement for non-physician scientist members;
  Eliminate Council approval of transition to senior membership and reduction of senior dues (done
  by Membership and Workforce Committee); Allow Associate members to sponsor associate
  member applicants; Move transplant fellow memberships into the Trainee category; Allow trainees

to serve as liaisons on committees; Eliminate letter of support requirement for trainee members; Reduce letters of support required for regular membership application from 2 to 1; Eliminate Council approval for regular and associate membership applications; and Expansion of the Membership & Workforce Committee to 12 members.

## Motions:

- To approve the minutes from the June 2, 2019, Business Meeting. The motion was seconded and approved by unanimous vote.
- To approve the changes to Article 4, Section 3 of the bylaws. The motion was seconded and approved with 1 vote opposed.
- To approve the changes to Article 4, Section 4 of the bylaws. The motion was seconded and approved by unanimous vote.
- To approve the changes to Article 4, Section 6 of the bylaws. The motion was seconded and approved with 1 vote opposed.
- To approve the changes to Article 4, Sections 2 and 7 of the bylaws. The motion was seconded and approved with 1 vote opposed.
- To approve the changes to Article 4, Sections 8 and 9 of the bylaws. The motion was seconded and approved with 2 votes opposed.
- To approve the change to Article 6, Section 4 of the bylaws. The motion was seconded and approved by unanimous vote.

## Research | Presenter: Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH

## Discussion:

• Dr. Ratner presented the 2020 Research Grants portfolio.

# Training and Professional Development | Presenter: Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH, and Ty Diwan, MD

#### Discussion:

- Dr. Ratner introduced Dr. Diwan, chair of the Hands-On Task Force and co-chair of the FTC.
- Dr. Diwan gave an overview of the hands-on courses and Fellows Symposium planning for 2020/2021.

# Optimal Patient Care | Presenter: Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH, and David A. Axelrod, MD, MBA

# Discussion:

- Dr. Ratner introduced Dr. David Axelrod, outgoing chair of the Standards and Quality Committee.
- Dr. Axelrod reported on the Safety and Transportation Summit in July 2019 and the recommendations arising from it, which have been accepted by the AJT. The possibility of death and disability insurance as a member benefit was discussed.
- Dr. Ratner thanked Dr. Axelrod for his work with the committee. Dr. Axelrod thanked Jennifer Nelson-Dowdy and Laurie Kulikosky for their work. He asked for feedback on the guidelines published in AJT.

# Advocacy | Presenter: Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH, and Matthew Cooper, MD

## Discussion:

- Dr. Ratner reported on high-level meetings ASTS has had in the past year and introduced Dr.
   Matthew Cooper, a Councilor-at-Large who has been active in advocacy and will be president-elect of UNOS.
- Dr. Cooper spoke about how to get involved in advocacy and encouraged everyone to do so.

• There was discussion about how to leverage the relationship between ASTS and UNOS and how to involve patients in advocacy efforts.

# Recognition Ceremony | Presenter: Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH

- Dr. Ratner thanked the corporate supporters of ASTS. Ms. Kebler-Bullock added her thanks.
- He recognized the outgoing committee chairs: Susan Orloff, Haley Hoy, Jason Wertheim, Sander Florman, James Pomposelli, Michael Zimmerman, Sunil Geevarghese, Ty Dunn, David Axelrod, and David Mason.
- He recognized the outgoing councilors: Talia Baker, Jon Fryer, Alan Reed, and Georgeine Smith, as well as outgoing Past President Jean Emond.
- He thanked the staff for their dedication.

# Election Results | Presenter: Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH

- Dr. Ratner presented the results of the 2020 Officer and Councilor Elections: the new councilors are Kenneth Andreoni, Devin Eckhoff, Irene Kim, and Ashley Seawright; Ginny Bumgardner is the new Secretary; and Osama Gaber is the new president-elect.
- Dr. Ratner recognized the Foundation Board members finishing their terms: Ronald Busuttil, Lloyd Ratner, and Alan Reed. He congratulated the new co-chair Tom Peters and new Board members Irene Kim, Kenneth Chavin, and Christopher Marsh.

# Presidential Remarks | Presenters: Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH

• Dr. Ratner thanked his colleagues on the Executive Committee, Council, and staff for their support during his presidency. He thanked everyone for the honor of serving as president.

# Passing of the Gavel | Presenter: Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH, and Marwan S. Abouljoud, MD

- Dr. Ratner introduced the next president, Dr. Marwan Abouljoud and passed the gavel to him.
- Dr. Abouljoud congratulated Dr. Ratner on his presidential year and expressed his gratitude for Dr. Ratner's leadership, that of the committee chairs, and the work of the staff. He congratulated new committee chairs and Councilors and Officers and thanked the outgoing ones.

# Old/New Business | Presenter: Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH

There was no old or new business.

## Adjourn | Presenter: Marwan S. Abouljoud, MD

The meeting was adjourned at 5:49 p.m.

Prepared by: Diane L. Mossholder, MA, CAE, ASTS Director, Member Engagement Respectfully submitted by: A. Osama Gaber, MD, ASTS Secretary