

American Society of Transplant Surgeons

April 2, 2013

The Honorable Max Baucus
Chairman
Senate Committee on Finance
219 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Orrin Hatch Ranking Member Senate Committee on Finance 219 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Re: Support for Nomination of CMS Acting Administrator Marilyn Tavenner

Dear Chairman Baucus and Senator Hatch:

On behalf of the American Society of Transplant Surgeons, I write today to support the nomination of Marilyn Tavenner as Administrator to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

We believe that Acting Administrator Tavenner is well suited to oversee the two major health-insurance programs operated by the federal government as well as implementation of key parts of the Affordable Care Act and ask that you advance her nomination before the committee as expeditiously as possible.

First nominated in November 2011 and serving as Acting Administrator since that time, Ms. Tavenner clearly has the skills and health policy acumen to perform well in this challenging position. Her background as a public health advocate, nurse, and hospital administrator adds to her depth as head of CMS.

We have not agreed with every decision CMS has made during Ms. Tavenner's tenure as Acting Administrator, nor do we expect to agree with all her future decisions as permanent CMS Administrator. But we find in Ms. Tavenner an honest broker willing to consider our views before important health policy decisions are made. It is critical that the Senate finally confirm a qualified CMS Administrator to bring consistency and clarity to some of our nation's largest and most important programs, Medicare, Medicaid, and private insurance reform.

National Office 2461 South Clark Street Suite 640 Arlington, VA 22202 Phone: 703 414-7870 Fax: 703 414-7874 asts@asts.org www.ASTS.org

President

Kim M. Olthoff, MD University of Pennsylvania Department of Surgery 3400 Spruce Street - 2 Dulles Philadelphia, PA 19104 Phone: 215 662-6136 Fax: 215 662-2244 kim.olthoff@uphs.upenn.edu

President-Elect

Alan N. Langnas, DO University of Nebraska 983285 Nebraska Medical Center Omaha, NE 68198-3285 Phone: 402 559-8390 Fax: 402 559-3434 alangnas@unmc.edu

Secretary

Charles M. Miller, MD Cleveland Clinic Foundation 9500 Euclid Ave. Mail Code A-110 Cleveland, OH 44195 Phone: 216 445-2381 Fax: 216 444-9375 millerc8@ccf.org

Treasurer

Timothy L. Pruett, MD University of Minnesota Department of Surgery 420 Delaware Street SE MMC 195 Minneapolis, MN 55455

Immediate Past President Mitchell L. Henry, MD

Past President Michael M. Abecassis, MD, MBA

Councilors-at-Large Stuart M. Flechner, MD David C. Mulligan, MD Lewis W. Teperman, MD Marwan S. Abouljoud, MD Sandy Feng, MD, PhD John C. Magee, MD Jean C. Emond, MD Abhinav Humar, MD Lloyd E. Ratner, MD, MPH

Executive Director Kimberly Gifford, MBA Kim.gifford@asts.org These policies will have a direct and immediate impact on both transplant surgeons and their patients, and Ms. Tavenner has already demonstrated her ability to perform well in this capacity. We urge you to approve her nomination as expeditiously as possible. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Kim M. Olthoff, MD

President

American Society of Transplant Surgeons