

December 13, 2024

Ms. Christine Jones Director, OPTN Board Support American Institutes for Research 1400 Crystal Drive, 10th Floor Arlington, VA 22202

Delivered Electronically

Dear Ms. Jones,

We as the leadership of the American Society of Transplant Surgeons (ASTS) thank you for the invitation to submit nominations for the OPTN Transitional Nominating Committee. ASTS is a medical specialty society representing approximately 2,000 professionals dedicated to excellence in transplantation surgery. Our membership composition and clinical expertise comprehensively spans the patient's transplant journey inclusive of medical and surgical evaluation for transplant eligibility, deceased donor organ surgical procedure, living donor surgery, donor organ assessment and transplant surgery, and post-transplantation care. Our organization has great commitment and investment in the success of transplantation surgery to benefit our patients. Our mission is to advance the art and science of transplant surgery through patient care, research, education, and advocacy.

We have separately submitted our candidate criteria for both the Transitional Nominating Committee and the OPTN Board of Directors. This letter serves to provide the names, contact information and qualifications of 14 individuals. These individuals have confirmed interest and availability to serve on the Transitional Nominating Committee if selected and have also completed the online submission form.

ASTS strongly supports the nominations of the following diverse group of individuals who are eminently well qualified to serve on the OPTN Transitional Nominating Committee. We provide biographical summaries highlighting the qualifications and experience for each nominee in the attachment:

Transplant Surgeons:

- 1. Ken Andreoni, MD (governance, health policy; Pennsylvania)
- 2. Andre Dick, MD, MPH (health equity, pediatrics; Washington state)
- Rachel Forbes MD MBA (business administration, transplant access; Tennessee)
- 4. Jordan Hoffman, MD, MPH (thoracic transplant, organ procurement, Colorado)
- 5. Dixon Kaufman, MD, PhD (governance, CDC, FDA, NIH; Wisconsin)
- 6. Lisa McElroy, MD, MS (transplant health equity, North Carolina)
- 7. Michelle C. Nguyen, MD, MPH (health policy, novel technologies, Arizona)

1401 S. Clark St, Suite 1120 Arlington, VA 22202

President

Ginny L. Bumgardner, MD, PhD The Ohio State University

President-Elect

James Markmann, MD, PhD Penn Transplant Institute

Secretary

Debra L. Sudan, MD Duke University Medical Center

Treasurer

Julie Heimbach, MD Mayo Clinic

DEI Officer

Henry B. Randall, MD, MBA SSM Health Saint Louis University

Immediate Past President

Elizabeth Pomfret, MD, PhD University of Colorado

Past President

William C. Chapman, MD, FACS Washington University Medical Center

Councilors-at-Large

André A. S. Dick, MD Tayyab Diwan, MD Majella B. Doyle, MD, MBA Jacqueline Garonzik Wang, MD, PhD, FACS Sunil K. Geevarghese, MD, MSCI Daniela P. Ladner, MD, MPH Matthew H. Levine, MD, PhD Robert Montgomery, MD, PhD, FACS Dinee C. Simpson, MD Samantha J. Halpern, MSN, CRNP

Executive Director

Maggie Kebler-Bullock, CFRE



- 8. Kim Olthoff, MD (governance, pediatrics, Pennsylvania)
- 9. Steve Potter, MD (governance, health policy; Washington, DC)
- 10. Tim Pruett, MD (governance, infectious disease; Minnesota)
- 11. John Roberts, MD (governance, health system change; California)
- 12. Peter Stock, MD, PhD (governance, health equity & policy; California)
- 13. Anji Wall, MD, PhD (transplant ethics, Texas)

Transplant Professionals

14. Molly Maxwell, MSN, RN, CCTC (transplant nurse manager for pre-transplant, posttransplant, organ recovery teams, and organ procurement, coordination experience; Ohio)

We sincerely thank AIR for the opportunity to submit these nominations for the Transitional Nominating Committee and Special Election. In a recent meeting and follow-up correspondence to HRSA about this OPTN Special Election, we strongly emphasized the ASTS recommendation to follow the procedures outlined in the OPTN Revised Bylaws and Management and Membership Policies. We believe that utilization of bylaws-specified procedures for the Special Election of the new OPTN Board of Directors is an important opportunity to build trust and confidence within the transplant community for the modernized OPTN public private partnership.

We look forward to providing further input on this critically important issue.

Respectfully,

Ginny L. Bumgardner, MD, PhD President