Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

December 13, 2022

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. NW Washington, DC 20500

The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader U.S. Senate S-221, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker U.S. House of Representatives H-232, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader U.S. Senate 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives H-204, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear President Biden, Leader Schumer, Minority Leader McConnell, Speaker Pelosi, and Minority Leader McCarthy:

We write today as a bipartisan group of lawmakers urging you to act quickly to prevent the more than 8 percent cut in Medicare reimbursement that will directly impact patients in this country. Reducing Medicare payments by more than 8 percent, which comes on the heels of the 2 percent sequestration cut resuming earlier this year, would directly harm our nation's medical groups, physicians, hospitals, and other health care providers who care for our communities.

As you know, in addition to the 2 percent Medicare sequestration cut that went into full effect in July, these drastic reimbursement reductions are being driven by the 4 percent Statutory Pay-As-You-Go (PAYGO) requirement and the 4.47 percent cut to the Medicare conversion factor which affects many health care providers, including physicians. Compounded by workforce shortages, increased costs and supply chain issues, and the ongoing ramifications of the COVID-19 pandemic, these cuts will impact the ability of providers to care for their patients. In fact, we have heard from provider organizations that if these additional Medicare cuts are not prevented, medical groups and integrated systems of care would be forced to eliminate services, furlough staff, implement hiring freezes, and delay population health initiatives. Congress must ensure that Medicare providers continue to have the necessary financial support to care for our nation's seniors who rely on Medicare.

Providers will face cuts of more than 10 percent to Medicare payments on Jan. 1, 2023, which includes the 2 percent sequestration policy already in effect. We are opposed to paying for preventing these cuts with additional provider cuts. The combination of skyrocketing expenses, significant staffing shortages and looming cuts to Medicare payments will only make a bad situation far worse – especially for seniors in rural and underserved areas who continue to face health care access issues. Physicians, in particular, do not receive inflationary updates in the Medicare program and, as a result, we urge Congressional intervention to prevent the entirety of these cuts. Anything short of this is still a cut that hurts providers and the patients that they treat. We appreciate your attention to this critical issue and look forward to working together to ensure these cuts are prevented.

Sincerely,

Susan Wild

Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks.

M.D.

Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress Vicky Hartzler Member of Congress Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D.

Member of Congress

Larry Bucshon, M.D. Member of Congress Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat

Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Nikema Williams
Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs

Member of Congress

C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Ritchie Torres

Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress Ann Kirkpatrick
Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa

Member of Congress

Don Bacon

Member of Congress

Chris Pappas

Member of Congress



Patrick K. Ryan Member of Congress

Grace Meng

Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell

Member of Congress

Jefferson Van Drew Member of Congress Susie Lee Member of Congress

usie lee

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress Dina Titus Member of Congress Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.
Member of Congress

Bill Posey Member of Congress Colin Z. Alfred
Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer
Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress Abigail Davis Spanberger Member of Congress Teresa Leger Fernández

Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress am Motave furtor

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez
Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Janis Heldrer

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress Janes. tonles

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress Michael F. Q. San Nicolas Member of Congress

Mossy Houleton

\FQhhi

David G. Valadao Member of Congress Trent Kelly
Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Terri A. Sewell
Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress Kathy E. Manning Member of Congress

Donald Norcross immy Panetta Lori Trahan Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Lucy McBath Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Diana DeGette Kweisi Mfume Madeleine Dean Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Jerrold Nadler Jim Costa Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Bobby L. Rush Debbie Lesko Angie Craig Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress

David J. Trone Member of Congress

William R. Keating
Member of Congress

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Norma J. Torres Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress areph S. marelle Jésús G. "Chuy" García Glenn "GT" Thompson Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress William R. Timmons IV Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Guy Reschenthaler Maria Elvira Salazar Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Tom Rice Stacey E/Plaskett Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress

Conor Lamb Member of Congress Chellie Pingree
Member of Congress

James R. Langevin Member of Congress

Greg Stanton Member of Congress	John Joyce, M.D. Member of Congress	Debbie Dingell Member of Congress
Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress	Grevoleten Congress	Ilhan Omar Member of Congress
Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress	Alex X. Mooney Member of Congress	Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress
David B. McKinley, P.E. Member of Congress	Ro Khanna Member of Congress	Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress
Veronica Escobar Member of Congress	Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress	Toe Neguse Member of Congress

CC: Chairwoman Murray, Chairman Wyden, Chairman Neal, and Chairman Pallone