In this Section:
In This Section:

ASTS Pioneer Award 2013

The ASTS Pioneer award is the most distinguished award bestowed upon an individual by the ASTS for a significant contribution to the field of transplantation.  (Previous Award Recipients)

Dr. Ronald W. Busuttil
Ronald W. Busuttil, MD, PhD
Distinguished Professor and Executive Chairman
The William P. Longmire, Jr. Chair in Surgery
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, Department of Surgery
Chief, Division of Liver and Pancreas Transplantation
Director, The Pfleger Liver Institute
After graduating magna cum laude from Loyola University in New Orleans, Dr. Busuttil earned both his MD and PhD degrees at Tulane University.  He served his surgical residency at UCLA under Dr. William P. Longmire, Jr. and was trained in transplantation by Dr. Thomas Starzl at the University of Pittsburgh.  He has been a member of the UCLA surgical faculty since 1978.

In 1984, he founded the Liver Transplant Program and has been the Director and Chief Surgeon for 28 years.  It has since grown to become one of the largest liver transplant centers in the world.  Clinical activities encompass the entire spectrum of liver transplantation and hepatobiliary surgery for adults and children. Dr. Busuttil and his team have performed over 5300 liver transplants, and he is internationally recognized for his expertise in transplantation and liver surgery.

Dr. Busuttil has demonstrated a life-long commitment to teaching and advancing the field of transplantation and surgery.  His training program in transplant surgery is among the foremost in the world.  He has trained over 300 transplant surgeons from the US and abroad; many lead liver transplant programs in the US, Asia and Europe.  His laboratory has trained a large number of research fellows, including surgical residents and trainees in basic science disciplines.

His basic science research has focused on ischemia-reperfusion (IR) injury of the liver.  In 1975 he published the first report of the benefits of steroids on cardiac recovery after IR injury and subsequently reported several follow-up studies in other organs.  He has been NIH funded since 1981.
His contributions have been recognized through many awards and honors, including the American Surgical Association Medallion for Scientific Achievement, American Society of Transplant Surgeons Francis Moore Excellence in Mentorship in Transplantation Surgery Award, Man of the Year Award from the United Liver Association, the Integritas Award from Loyola University, the Most Distinguished Alumni Award from Tulane University, Man of the Year Award from the American Liver Foundation, the UCLA School of Medicine 50th Anniversary Professional Achievement Award, the Thomas E. Starzl Prize in Surgery and Immunology, the Transplantation Society Award for Education and Training in Transplantation, and the  International Liver Transplantation Society Distinguished Service Award.

Dr. Busuttil serves on the editorial boards or as a reviewer for many prestigious journals and is the co-editor of the definitive textbook, Transplantation of the Liver, now in its second edition.  He has authored more than 600 peer reviewed scientific manuscripts, 55 book chapters, and 400 abstracts.  He is an active member of all major national and international surgical and transplantation societies and has routinely held key committee positions.  He is a Past President of the International Liver Transplantation Society, a Past President of the American Society of Transplant Surgeons, Past First Vice President of the American Surgical Association, a past member of the council of The Transplantation Society, and has served on the Board of Directors of United Network for Organ Sharing.