In this Section:
In This Section:

ASTS Pioneer Award 2017

The ASTS Pioneer award is the most distinguished award bestowed upon an individual by the ASTS for a significant contribution to the field of transplantation.  (Previous Award Recipients)

Dr. Richard Simmons
Richard L. Simmons, MD
Distinguished Service Professor of Surgery
VIce Chair for Surgical Research
University of Pittsburgh
Richard L. Simmons, MD, was a charter member of the ASTS and its 8th President (1981-1982). He received his medical degree from Boston University and completed a general surgical residency at Columbia University Hospital in New York, with additional fellowship training at the Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School, and Columbia University. Following service at the Walter Reed Army Institute for Research, he spent two decades at the University of Minnesota, where he defined post transplant viral infection and its effective prevention. He was also a pioneer in the design of clinical protocols for effective patient care. Moving to the University of Pittsburgh from Minnesota, Dr. Simmons continues to apply clinical and administrative skills at that multi-organ transplant center and institute.

His numerous honors include a Lifetime Achievement Award from the University of Minnesota, the Peter Medawar Prize from the International Transplantation Society, and the Thomas Starzl Prize in Surgery and Immunology from the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. He has served on several editorial boards, including Transplantation, Clinical Transplantation, and Transplantation Science. He is currently a member of the Center for Organ Recovery and Education Board of Directors.